Request for feedback: Config-driven refactoring

Hi all,

My name is Korinne, and I’m a Product Manager for Terraform :wave:

We’re currently working on a project that will allow users to more easily refactor their Terraform modules and configurations, set to be generally available in Terraform v1.1. From a high-level, the goal is to use moved statements to do things like:

The above actions are declared within a module’s own source code, which allows Terraform to automatically apply the changes as part of creating a plan. This feature is currently included in v1.1.0-alpha20211006, and we’d be really grateful to get feedback from the Terraform community. You can learn more about this new feature (along with additional use cases) in its draft documentation.

Why this is important

Up until now, the primary tool for refactoring configuration has been terraform state mv, used in conjunction with corresponding changes to the configuration. While this can accomplish simple refactoring operations, module authors and Terraform Cloud practitioners had no way to coordinate these changes themselves. Here’s a quick summary of the problems our different users faced with refactoring:

• Terraform CLI (open-source) users: Refactoring had to be done manually, by constructing commands to rename the state objects, and coordinate those changes with the configuration. This was often error-prone, with little feedback about how to resolve those errors.

• Terraform Cloud users: General refactoring within Terraform Cloud workflows was not really possible, since the only interface is to create a plan based on changes to the configuration. In order to do any refactoring, users would need to temporarily switch to using local state with the CLI, and make the changes out-of-band from the normal workflow. This also assumes the user has admin access on the workspace, as they’ll need access to the state file.