Connecting to mongodb replica set via Boundary

Hi,

I am quite new to HashiCorp Boundary and I just finishes the “getting started” tutorial in the learn site. I am still going through documentation and trying to understand if Boundary works for our specific use case with mongo.

We have a mongo replica set running in AWS private subnets. Our applications all run in AWS and can connect to mongo replica sets. But sometimes (especially in dev) we would like to connect to this mongo replica set from our laptops (to run some tests and/or just to inspect something). To be able to do so, the mongo client needs to have network connection to all of members of the replica set. So Boundary will have to proxy transparently for all members of the replica set. Would Boundary work for this specific use case? Can we use Boundary desktop to proxy to our 3 node mongo replica set and use mongo client to connect to replica sets? Have anybody tried this?

Any help/pointer is appreciated.

Thank You

Best Regards,
Vishwanath

I’m not an expert on MongoDB by any means, but based on my limited knowledge, it’s one of several systems like Cassandra that prefer not to be externally load-balanced, so by default what you’d have to do in Boundary is define individual host sets each with a host mapping to a single client, then somehow (like in /etc/hosts) map those to the names the replica members are advertised by in MongoDB. However, if all you need to do is get query results it seems you might be able to stand up a mongos router and connect your clients to that through Boundary. (mongos is apparently usually for querying sharded clusters; I don’t know if it will talk to an unsharded cluster as a single shard or if it will just not talk to it at all…)

1 Like

Boundary proxy isn’t transparent. You’d have to configure the Mongo app to use the local TCP ports provided by the Boundary agent.