Deny policy doesn't appear to work as expected

I am new to Vault. I was am trying out a policy that is applying permissions to a kv (version 2) secrets store at a path “webserver/”. The policy I have set up looks like this:

path “webserver/*” {
capabilities = [“list”,“read”]
}

path “webserver/database/base” {
capabilities = [“deny”]
}

While the “webserver/*” capabilities are being applied, the “webserver/database/base” policy appear to be being noticed, but not applied. I see the following behavior:

C:\tools\vaultAgent>set vault_token=s.DhjUheYi0YL0xryFZMNxIU04

C:\tools\vaultAgent>vault token capabilities s.DhjUheYi0YL0xryFZMNxIU04 webserver/database/base
deny

C:\tools\vaultAgent>vault kv get webserver/database/base
====== Metadata ======
Key Value

created_time 2021-07-02T14:45:11.0355888Z
deletion_time n/a
destroyed false
version 2

====== Data ======
Key Value

password testpassword
username testuser

I did not expect that the data at the “webserver/database/base” location would be visible, given that the capabilities indicated for the token are “deny”.

I presume I am doing something wrong, but it’s not clear to me what that is. Any hints would be greatly appreciated.

Brendan

PS. This is Vault 1.7.3, running on Windows 10.

The paths you are using for your policies are incorrect. They need to list the full API paths that you want to control, not the user visible paths you might see in the UI.

In particular you need to include the mount name at the start (often secrets/ for kv) and for kv2 you need to include the /data/ API piece (as well as any other ones you wish to allow access via the UI, version history or deletion).

Hi Stuart,

Thanks for the response, but I don’t think that’s the problem. When I enabled the Secrets Engine, I used the following command:

vault secrets enable -path=webserver -version=2 kv