Dynamic routing based on URL

Hey there,

I’m fairly new with Consul/Nomad and I’m trying to explore how to go about solving my use-case.
My goal is to give our users URLs that connect them to specific tasks (batch jobs) running in the Nomad cluster. Imagine it like Gitpod (https://gitpod.io/) - there is a container running for each user and you can connect directly to that container via an URL.

The URLs are in the following format: <port>-<some-id>.ourdomain.com
The URL would correspond to a job that has the some-id somewhere in it’s job stanza. Probably as a tag. The port in the URL would be the service’s port to which route the traffic.

job "docs" {
 group "example" {
  task "server" {
   service {
    tags = ["some-id"]
   }
  }
 }
}

What I basically need is to have a dynamic routing to running jobs based on subdomains. The subdomain contains an ID that should route the traffic to a specific job/task/service with the same ID.

What do you think is the way to do this?

1 Like

I think this is similar to how I have feature branch jobs setup. If a dev checked in a branch called feature-test to the circle repo they can access the deploy at circle-feature-test.ci.example.com. If that’s the kind of thing you need then maybe this will help.

I put the generated deploy URL into a the meta block

meta {
  hostname = "[[ $hostname ]]"
}

of the job as well as an haproxy tag. I’m running HAProxy with consul-template and a stanza like the following to scrape all of the URLs and set up load balancing

[[- range services -]]
  [[ if .Tags | contains "haproxy" -]]
    [[- range $index, $name := service .Name -]]
      [[ if eq $index 0 ]]

backend b_[[.Name]]
    mode http
[[- /* server-template [[.Name]] 3 _[[.Name]]._tcp.service.consul resolvers consul resolve-opts allow-dup-ip resolve-prefer #ipv4 check */]]
      [[- end ]]
    server [[.Name]]-[[ $index ]] [[.Address]]:[[.Port]]

[[- end -]]
  [[- end -]]
[[- end ]]