Filling the medium size gap

I’m just getting started with Nomad but so far I’m very excited.
In the lifecycle of software it usually starts out as a manually provisioned VM, then scaling up to a few machines then moving to Kubernetes (or now that I know about it, Nomad).

Currently we’re at the 2nd stage and we are running fully containerized using Rancher 1 as the orchestrator.
The simplicity of nomad and the recent focus on removing the need for Consul would allow it to fill this medium size gap; however as mentioned in other issues there’s no testing done at small scale.

Unfortunately for us we do not have the expertise to do actual testing and since the Nomad team is (I think) focusing on simpler deployments with less moving parts I’d argue that it makes sense to test for a few smaller scale scenarios as well.
Note that all of this is about production environments at small scale (in other posts the implicit assumption of people responding always seems to be that small scale implies non-prod).

1. Running a Nomad node in client & server mode.
    This seems to be the best way to get started quickly; the argument against it seems to be that there might be resource contention, but I feel this can be managed by proper configuration if properly documented.

2. Latency between Nomad server nodes
    The allowed latency for the raft protocol is 10ms, but what happens if I run a cluster with 3 nodes in different datacenters, with a <30ms latency?
    I’d be great to know that this will still be fine for cases where there’s say < 200 containers and probably more importantly: less than 5 new job submissions / hour.

I’m very excited to move over our production system, but even after our own testing I cannot be confident that the system will hold up if deployed like I mentioned.
Deploying on a full scale Nomad + Consul cluster is not realistic for our size.

How can I help in making Nomad more accessible for smaller workloads

Hey Sam,