Help: Template.tf and user_data.yaml.tpl- loop through a variable of type list

Hi
I am new to templates, I am trying to change terraform modules to flex however many “nameservers” as needed. How can iterate through the values of variable? Right now I am doing-

template.tf -

variable "nameserver" {
  type = list(string)
}

nameservers = [
  "174.15.22.20",
  "174.15.12.21"
]

nameserver_1 = element(var.nameservers, 0) #nameserver_1=174.15.22.20
nameserver_2 = element(var.nameservers, 1) #nameserver_2=174.15.12.21

user_data.yaml.tpl

nameserver ${nameserver_1}
nameserver ${nameserver_2}

I want to do something like-

template.tf

vars = {
   count = length(var.nameserver)
   for nameserver in nameservers:
   nameserver_$(count.index)= ${element(var.nameserver, 
  count.index)}
}

user_data.yaml.tpl

for nameserver in nameservers:
  nameserver  ${nameserver_[count.index]}

But unable to figure out the right way to do this in template.tf and user_data.yaml.tpl

Any help would be appreciated !

Hi @DarthVader2409!

From what you’ve shown of template.tf I’m guessing that vars = { ... } declaration is inside a data "template_file" block? The template_file data source is primarily there for Terraform 0.11 compatibility and it only supports string values for the template variables, but since you are using Terraform 0.12 you can use the new templatefile function instead, which makes this easier by supporting values of any type.

From the template name you used I’m guessing that you intend to use this result to assign to user_data, in which case the syntax for doing that in templatefile would look something like this:

user_data = templatefile("${path.module}/user_data.yaml.tpl", {
    nameservers = var.nameservers
  })

In your user_data.yaml.tpl file:

%{ for s in nameservers ~}
nameserver ${s}
%{ endfor ~}