How does new code get deployed to the cloud with Terraform?

I’m new to both Terraform and cloud services, so this question might be stupidly simple for the more experienced folks.

Terraform is all about deploying infrastructure. After configuring the backend (either storing locally, in an S3 bucket/DynamoDB, on Terraform Cloud etc.), every change to the terraform code followed by terraform apply will idempotently change infrastructure. This makes sense to me.

Where everything falls apart however, is when I want to run a service on one of the deployed virtual machines. Let’s take a hello world NodeJS + Express web server as an example.

In my world view, this is what I expected to be able to do:

1. Define infrastructure and terraform apply
# see https://github.com/revosw/portfolioassignment/blob/main/main.tf
# for entire terraform file
resource "aws_instance" "web" {
  # Which virtual machine image this VM should be based on
  ami = "ami-0bd9c26722573e69b"
  # How much hardware resources does this instance need
  instance_type = "t3.micro"
  # What commands should be executed when the VM boots
  user_data = file("install.sh")
  # The ssh key pair to apply to this virtual machine
  key_name = "terraform-abcd"
  # Required for network setup
  security_groups = ["terraform-sg-abcd"]
}
  1. In the file install.sh set up my virtual machine
#! /bin/bash
adduser webmaster

# Install Volta - node and npm manager
curl https://get.volta.sh | bash
. ~/.profile
volta install node@17

# Clone repository
git clone https://github.com/revosw/terraform-project
cd portfolioassignment

# Install dependencies and start server
npm install
npm start
  1. Define github action to redeploy affected terraform instances whenever the Express web server application code changes