How to avoid making Vault accessible to an attacker?

Hello all,

I am new to Vault, and to secrets management in general.

I work on an application which keeps some sensitive data encrypted in a database. The encryption key is stored in a config file on disk. I’m investigating how to avoid having that encryption key stored on disk, specifically to address the threat model of someone gaining access to the server, and therefore the config file, and being able to use it to decrypt the sensitive data in the database.

At first glance it seems there are many ways Vault can help with this. For eg the simplest option I came across is the KV secrets engine which could store the encryption key. The application would retrieve it from Vault, instead of from disk. Alternatively the Transit secret engine could handle the encryption and decryption for me, and there’s no encryption key to store anywhere. These both sound great.

But no matter which option I look at, I keep coming back to the same problem: how does my application authenticate itself to Vault, without running into the same problem I am trying to address?

• If I use tokens to authenticate, then I need a token saved on disk so my application can read it and ask Vault for the encryption key. This does not seem to be any improvement in the threat model I am trying to address - an attacker who gains access to the machine can find that token just the same as they could find the encryption key now. They just need to use the token, get the key, and I’m back to where I started. I don’t think adding this extra step makes any difference, any attacker skilled enough to have gained access to the machine won’t be slowed down by having to trace through my application to replicate what it does.

• If I set up the application to automatically generate and renew tokens, then an attacker on the machine can do the same thing and generate themselves a new token. And anyway the tokens need to be stored so the app can use them.