How to change the name of a workspace

Hi all

I have made a terrible choice naming my workspace, and would like to move all resources in it to a workspace with a better name. Is there a short way of doing this? My backend is S3, there is no state locking.

I have considered, but not actually done, the following:

  1. backup the state (terraform state pull) – then what? import using legacy method?
  2. import resources the hard way :skull: ← I really don’t want to do that.

What are you state ninjas doing when you need to move resources to another workspace?
Thanks
Bruce

Hi @brucellino1,

Since you are using S3 without any locking, honestly the easiest method is likely to be to use the S3 CLI or admin console directly to rename the object representing the workspace you want to rename. The S3 backend scans the set of objects in the bucket and does prefix-matching to see which workspaces are available, so as long as you preserve the existing naming convention and ensure that nobody else tries to work with the workspace while you are in the process of renaming it this approach should be sufficient.


Within Terraform’s own abstractions, you were on the right track with terraform state pull, which retrieves the latest state snapshot from the current workspace. The opposite of that command is terraform state push, which allows you to push an on-disk state snapshot into the current workspace.

So a Terraform-commands-only version of what you want to achieve could look like this:

  • terraform workspace select old-name
  • terraform state pull >old-name.tfstate
  • terraform workspace new new-name
  • terraform state push old-name.tfstate
  • terraform show just to confirm that the newly-imported state looks “right”, before we delete the old workspace
  • terraform workspace delete -force old-name

The state manipulation commands run through Terraform’s automatic state upgrading processes and so best to do this with the same Terraform CLI version that you’ve most recently been using against this workspace so that the state won’t be implicitly upgraded as part of the operation. (Upgrading generally shouldn’t hurt, but since the intended effect was a “rename” here I assume it’s preferable for the new state to be equivalent to the old state.)


Whichever way you do it, I strongly recommend making sure that the old workspace is deleted properly before you conclude your work because otherwise you will have created a situation that violates a couple of of Terraform’s core assumptions: that each object is only managed in only one Terraform workspace, and that the state snapshots for each workspace have a separate “lineage” (an automatically-generated unique id) so that Terraform can detect situations like trying to apply a plan in a different workspace than where it was created, etc.

1 Like