How to clone and existing AWS environment -New to Terraform

Hello, I am new to Terraform.
We have an existing AWS environment with S3, ECS, DynamoDB, Redshift, Lambdas, API Gateway, Data Pipeline and more. I do not yet have a full inventory.
My final objective is to have a lesser environment that matches the existing current environment.
I think the logical steps are:

1. Ask Terraform to determine the current running state - Is this possible???
  2. Configure the infrastructure definition to mirror the existing environment (possible changes to size of objects, etc.)
  3. Perform a Plan and Apply
  4. Copy data between environments to enable functional & regression testing.

I can not be the first person that was asked to generate a lesser environment seeing how pervasive it is today for applications to only have production only set-ups.

Please help me to come up with a plan of action to address this issue. Any and all advice would be appreciated and thanks in advance…

Cheers -
Phil Orion - Orion like the constellation, not the Irish guy…

No, it isn’t - Terraform does not implement this part.

I don’t work with AWS myself, but I have heard this third-party tool: GitHub - GoogleCloudPlatform/terraformer: CLI tool to generate terraform files from existing infrastructure (reverse Terraform). Infrastructure to Code mentioned a few times in this context.

However, even if automated tooling can, to some extent, analyse an existing environment, you should still expect to need to refactor any automatically generated Terraform code a fair bit, to get it into a state more suitable for ongoing human use.

@maxb - Thank you for the quick reply. Let me clone this repo and take it for a test drive to try and get started with identifying all the existing components.
Update::