How to create multiple objects with a single resource

I’m very new to Terraform so I might be using wrong terminology, but I have a resource object that links a set of network/vlan encapsulation blocks (blocks have a from and to number) to another resource object.

The resource is pretty simple, looks like this:

resource "aci_ranges" "Physical-Encap-Block" {
  depends_on = [
    aci_vlan_pool.Phys-VLAN-Pool,
  ]
  vlan_pool_dn  = aci_vlan_pool.External-VLAN-Pool.id
  _from = some_number
  to = some_number
}

I’m trying to figure out if there’s a way I can link all the encapsulation blocks under a single resource instead of creating a new resource for every single encapsulation block.

So for example if I have three encapsulation blocks:
block1 = {from:2, to:5}
block2 = {from:12, to:15}
block3 = {from:22, to:25}

The blocks are known ahead of time so I’m ok with defining them as variables, I just can’t figure out how to roll it all up into a single resource. I’ve been looking at documentation and examples for for_each, but I can’t figure out how to use it for this specific use case.

Thanks.

Hi @aj-cruz,

The key requirement for for_each is that we build a map that has one element per instance we want to create. The keys of that map will be used by Terraform as identifiers for the individual instances. You used block1, block2, block3 in your example so I’m going to use those as examples here.

The first step is to declare the variable that the module caller will use to specify these “blocks”. It sounds like all we need here is a pair of numbers for each block, so we could represent this either as a two-element tuple or as an object with from and to attributes. I’m going to go with the latter because subjectively I think it’ll make the result easier to understand for a future reader:

variable "physical_encap_blocks" {
  type = map(object({
    from = number
    to   = number
  }))
}