Is setting advertise_addr_wan required when configuring consul cluster to auto-join?

The nomad auto join demo here:

set advertise_addr_wan to the PUBLIC IP of the ec2 instance here:

I’m still learning all of this, but my best understanding of the broader configuration is that Consul uses the WAN address in this scenario because the consul/nomad servers are spanning multiple AZs and therefore subnets. So, Consul needs the public IP in order to automatically form a cluster.

I wanted to remove the Public IP from these severs because the services they all run have no need for any inbound traffic from the outside world and that seems more secure, but then (obviously) the consul cluster formation immediately fell over.

My Question:
Is this public IP required in order for Consul to form a cluster in this type of (autojoining) setup? Or, in other words, is this public IP the tradeoff that allows autojoining across AZs to work?

Sub Question
If I did away with this autojoin luxury is it possible to have Consul form a cluster across multiple AZs without the public IP somehow? Or is that always required?

Hi @josh.m.sharpe . Thanks for using Nomad!

Based on this Consul link it looks like it doesn’t have to necessarily be a Public IP.

Also, here’s an article on configuring networking for Consul WAN Federation. I’d recommend taking a look here to see if your network configuration meets all the requirements.

Guessing this will show my lack of understanding of routing, but…

That network configuration info says: “all server nodes must be able to talk to each other” - OK, I can ping the private IPs across subnets - so they can… “talk”.

That section then goes on to suggest that setting bind_addr to a private IP prevents the RPC server from accepting connections across the WAN. But, why does it attempt to connect over the WAN to begin with? Is there some way I can have it attempt to connect over the private network which is seemingly already routeable?