Multiple environment with terraform workspace

Hello Terraform users,

I’m new with terraform and I would like to use it to deploy and control infrastructure resources (AWS) of my customer for each of its environments. So I saw Terraform workspace to be able to switch between environment and to have a separate tfstate file for each of them. But, now I would like to know if we can exclude the deployment of a resource for a specific environment. Let’s take an example, Imagine, I have 3 environments : dev, staging and prod and I would like to deploy a S3 bucket for each environment and a documentDB instance for prod and one shared documentDB instance for dev and staging. How can I do this by using workspace with terraform? How can I exclude some resources for a specific workspace?

I saw that we can use conditionals with terraform but If I don’t make a mistake its working if we have a count property. But in my example DocumentDB have no count property so I can’t have a map for each environment and specify 1 if we want this resource and 0 if we don’t want.

If someone can help me to structure my project it’s will be really cool because I have never use terraform for a real project.

If you need more context about the environment of my customer I can give you more details or we can also discuss on slack on somewhere else.

Thanks you for our help,

Best regards,

Rayane.

Hi @rayanebel,

As described in When to use Multiple Workspaces, we (the Terraform team at HashiCorp) don’t recommend using multiple workspaces in your situation, and recommend instead using a separate configuration for each environment so that you can represent the differences between your environments in a straightforward and readable way, rather than introducing various conditional expressions throughout the configuration.