My 25-resource Terraform Project is Taking 3 Minutes to Plan

Hi there, I have a new Terraform repo I’ve been experimenting with:

https://github.com/lancejpollard/cloud

I am new to Terraform, but have run into all kinds of gotchas in terms of syntax and capabilities, it’s very limiting. Currently I have an example that creates 26 resources in the California region for AWS, in one availability zone, but it’s setup to handle all regions and availability zones. It takes 3 minutes - 5 minutes to compute the plan…

Is this normal? What might I be doing wrong? It’s hard to iterate on the terraform plan if it takes 3-5 minutes each time to run terraform plan… Would like it to take like 20 seconds or less.

Hi @lancejpollard,

I wasn’t able to review your configuration in sufficient detail to explain what exactly is going on here; perhaps you can see in the output some specific things that are taking a particularly long time, in which case I could try to explain why that might be.

With that said, it’s not typical to manage an entire multi-region infrastructure deployment in a single Terraform configuration. Usually a larger deployment would be split into smaller units – one per region is a common first level of decomposition, and then possible further decomposition within each region by functional area or by frequency/risk of change – so that the potential impact of a particular change is reduced, and so Terraform does not have to resynchronize the entire space of objects on every change.