Packer template waiting for ssh

I am trying to create a VM Template using packer and https://github.com/acavella/packer-Rocky9/blob/main/rocky9.json as a reference. I cloned the repo and made 2 changes.

“iso_url”: “https://download.rockylinux.org/pub/rocky/9/isos/x86_64/Rocky-9.1-x86_64-boot.iso”,
“iso_checksum”: “none”,

But the process is stuck at “Waiting for SSH to become available…” I am new to packer but hoping to get it working and use this as a building block. Any idea what is going on? And how to fix it?

=> virtualbox-iso: Starting HTTP server on port 8105
==> virtualbox-iso: Creating virtual machine…
==> virtualbox-iso: Creating hard drive output-virtualbox-iso\Rocky-9-x86_64.vdi with size 40960 MiB…
==> virtualbox-iso: Mounting ISOs…
virtualbox-iso: Mounting boot ISO…
==> virtualbox-iso: Creating forwarded port mapping for communicator (SSH, WinRM, etc) (host port 2918)
==> virtualbox-iso: Executing custom VBoxManage commands…
virtualbox-iso: Executing: modifyvm Rocky-9-x86_64 --memory 2048
virtualbox-iso: Executing: modifyvm Rocky-9-x86_64 --cpus 2
==> virtualbox-iso: Starting the virtual machine…
==> virtualbox-iso: Waiting 30s for boot…
==> virtualbox-iso: Typing the boot command…
==> virtualbox-iso: Using SSH communicator to connect: 127.0.0.1
==> virtualbox-iso: Waiting for SSH to become available…

Looking at the at the Virtualbox console looks like the vm is not getting the kickstart file. I can see the text get input but it goes so fast I can’t catch all of it. I don’t see much info in the boot command that’s of help.

I’m kind of curious why so few people are converting their json file to hcl2.

Anyway, what I think the process is, is

1. The iso is downloaded from the iso_url.
  2. The ISO gets loaded as a liveVM and the boot_command is run.
  3. Once the boot_command is run, the liveVM is shut down and an SSH connection is made.

I think the reason packer does step 3 is due to the boot_command input being rather slow?