Possibility of overriding state value on plan/apply

So I am trying to use terraform to manage TeamCity build configurations using the bestseller-ecom/teamcity provider (I’m aware this is very out of date, but there’s better afaik)

Everything works perfectly except that I keep getting a repeated configuration change for the same property because the TeamCity API is accepting a “secure” parameter(in this case an access token) but this parameter gets returned as blank and thus saved to state as blank. So the next time I plan/apply terraform attempts to set the parameter back to the value it’s supposed to be (even though it already is), because the state see’s it as blank

What I’m wondering is, is there some preprocessing or something I can do on the state file to override this blank value before my terraform file is applied?

I’m still new to using terraform so if I’m completely off the mark just let me know, I’m open to doing this in whatever the “best” way possible is, overriding state file is only thing I can come up with myself though…

Hi @katakuna,

This sounds like a bug in the provider itself, it should never try to override a value which is in the configuration. You may find some warnings in the logs about invalid values we must accept because the provider “is using the legacy plugin SDK”. If the change is only happening during the next refresh, it’s not something we can catch in Terraform, but it is not expected behavior from the provider.

In the meantime, if the value is not required by the provider after the first apply, you may be able to use ignore_changes to indicate that Terraform should not attempt to revert changes on that field made by the configuration.

1 Like

I agree that it is likely a bug within the provider, but I do believe that the TeamCity api just refusing to return that value so you can’t even tell that it was “set” in the first place.