Problems using Packer and Ansible with WinRM Connection

First of all I apologise for the length of this post, but I thought it best to be thorough and detail what I’ve tried so far.
I’m also still somewhat new to Ansible so forgive me if I’m doing something stupidly obviously wrong.

So I’m attempting to create a packer build and use Ansible to do my configuration/application installation work, but I’m having some troubles when attempting to use the Ansible WinRM connector, and Googling has given me no real answers, so I’m hoping someone here might be able to help or point me in the right direction.

Prior to making my ansible call I have uploaded and run the ConfigureRemotingForAnsible.ps1 script which completes successfully. On accessing the in-progress VM build I can see that it has created a cert and configured WinRM, with WinRM listening on Ports 5985 and 5986. The built-in Windows Firewall is completely disabled at this stage.

My initial packer Ansible call was,

{
    "type": "ansible",
    "playbook_file" : "./playbooks/{{user `playbook`}}.yml",
    "extra_arguments": [
        "--connection", "packer", "-vvv",
        "--extra-vars", "ansible_connection=winrm ansible_winrm_server_cert_validation=ignore"
    ]
},

However this fails in the Gathering Facts section with the error,

vsphere-iso: fatal: [default]: UNREACHABLE! => {
vsphere-iso:     "changed": false,
vsphere-iso:     "msg": "ssl: auth method ssl requires a password",
vsphere-iso:     "unreachable": true
vsphere-iso: }

My next step was to implement an ansible_username and ansible_password,

{
        "--extra-vars", "ansible_connection=winrm ansible_winrm_server_cert_validation=ignore ansible_user=packer ansible_password=password"
    ]
},