Recovering from a terraform apply that was interrupted? (Importing orphaned objects in bulk or resuming?)

Greetings,
I’m fairly new to terraform and have been dabbling with the CAF-Enterprise-Scale templates.

One very frustrating situation I’ve ran into is in the event that I don’t occasionally poke at the Azure CLI window while a Terraform apply is running, I’ll get booted/disconnected from the cloud shell and terraform will throw errors whenever I try to continue the plan or generate a new plan and apply.

Here’s an example.

• I generate a TFPLAN
  • I apply the plan
  • The plan takes 30+ minutes to run, and I forget to occasionally poke at the cloud shell window.
  • Azure disconnects me due to timeout, leaving the apply in a transient state
  • If I try to run the apply again Terraform will throw errors about the state being different and needing to generate a ne plan.
  • I generate and then apply the updated plan
  • Terraform throws a bunch of errors due to the objects that were created during the interrupted plan, stating that I need to import them.

What’s the easiest way to recover from this scenario without hosing and then rebuilding the environment? I read through the terraform import documentation but it looked like I’d probably have to do it on a resource by resource basis and couldn’t find any good examples for the situation I’m dealing with.

Any help is appreciated! Thank you

30 minutes is a pretty long time for an apply to take. I’d suggest looking at that and maybe splitting the root module into multiple separate ones to make things smaller/quicker to plan & apply.