Referring to IP Addresses of other Tasks/Containers

So first - I’m new to Nomad (obviously). I’m trying to convert from docker-compose to Nomad and so far so good. The only problem I’m having right now is referring to the IP of other tasks/containers in the env variables.

I have a group that has two tasks which are both containers. The first is a database container and the second the web app. In the environment variables of the web app I have to pass it the connection string. However, something I’m obviously screwing up isn’t working. The variable interpolation doesn’t seem to be working. The job fails and when I check the logs it shows the actual “$NOMAD_IP_myapp-db_db” string instead of the IP of the task/container.

I’m sure I’m missing something really obvious but I’ve been searching and reading and I haven’t found an answer.

Basic example:

job "networktest" {
  datacenters = ["dc1"]

group "networktest" {
    network {
      mode = "bridge"
      port "app1" {}
      port "app2" {}
    }

service {
      name = "networktest"
      tags = ["default"]

connect {
        sidecar_service {}
      }
    }

task "app1" {
      driver = "docker"

service {
        name = "app1"
      }

env {
        APP1_ID = "${NOMAD_IP_app1}"
      }

config {
        network_mode = "bridge"
        image = "wbitt/network-multitool"
        ports = [ "app1" ]
      }
    }

task "app2" {
      driver = "docker"

service {
        name = "app2"
      }

env {
        APP2_ID = "${NOMAD_IP_app2}"
      }

config {
        network_mode = "bridge"
        image = "wbitt/network-multitool"
        ports = [ "app2" ]
      }
    }
  }
}

Thanks!

EDIT - So it appears as though NOMAD_IP_task_label is deprecated anyway so I shouldn’t be using that.

I could take a deep dive into upstreams but of the docs I’ve read on that it looks like that’s more for tasks communicating that are in another group. In my example both the app and db tasks are in the same group.