Supporting gigantic stacks

Hi.
I am trying to design development to production terraform pipelines for a portfolio of suites of applications. The portfolio has 3 major groups applications each with many micro services database clusters, … supported by 100-200 developers ( probably 20 two pizza team effort)

we need to break the terraform stacks up and have one stack reference resources created by other stacks. I think I use “output” to make the values available to other running stacks

if in stack 1 I have
output app1_alb_arn {
value = aws_alb.app1_alb.arn
}

In stack 2 how can

variable app1_alb_arn {
default = stack1.app1_alb_arn
}

You can use the remote state data source to get access to the outputs from other state files: The terraform_remote_state Data Source | Terraform by HashiCorp

ok… just to wrap my mind around it. I am a beginner. sorry for beginner questions. Stack overflow and Server Fault want more concrete questions/answere

We are using S3 buckets for remote state. Currently each app is broken up into separate chunks of work with state files in different locations for each AWS account.

what you are saying is use the same state file for all of the the chunks. That would imply 20-100 Jenkins pipelines trying to modify the same state. Certainly 2 executing at any given time…

we have a team that is creating template modules. The analytical team uses the aurora module to make aurora clusters in all dev, qa, prod. and they define a module “analytics” that has a DB in it that is build from module.blueprint.auorora
and publish the writer endpoint with an output statement

output “aurora_writer_endpoint”

the inventory team could then get the writer endpoint by using “module.analyitcs.aurora_writer_endpoint”

No you have to have a different state file for each root module (which could be a different S3 bucket or just a different key within the same bucket).