Terraform Cloud SSH Key for

I’ve been researching setting up DigitalOcean droplets via Terraform Cloud and while I’m still relatively new to this I’m stumped by SSH connections for remote-exec. For my tinkering needs I’m just trying to get a generic ubuntu droplet running then have remote-exec run apt update/upgrade followed by installing nginx.

Running from my local machine I can setup the connection to grab a private SSH key from a local file but I’m a little confused as to how to accomplish this with Terraform Cloud. I have tried puttingthe key into an input variable and an environment variable by removing the line breaks but haven’t managed to get it working.

I’m certain I’m missing something elementary - does anyone have any suggestions to accomplish this or a keyword I’m missing in my google searches that might help?

1 Like

Hi @ewokninja!

As described on the provisioners documentation page, provisioners are a feature of last resort because they introduce a lot of additional setup complexity, including SSH keys, the need for direct network connectivity from Terraform to instances, etc.

Although that documentation doesn’t talk about DigitalOcean specifically, DigitalOcean does have a user_data feature similar to that of Amazon EC2. If the Ubuntu image includes cloud-init (Ubuntu images on cloud platforms usually do) then you can use cloud-init to configure your droplet by placing either a cloud-init configuration or a shell script directly into the user_data argument of digitalocean_droplet.

cloud-init has a built-in ability to interact with apt for package upgrade and installation, so you might be able to get the result you want declaratively with a cloud-init configuration like this:

# JSON is a subset of YAML, so we can use JSON encoding
  # here for simplicity as long as we add the #cloud-init
  # prefix to help cloud-init detect it as a configuration.
  user_data = "#cloud-config\n${jsonencode({
    package_update  = true
    package_upgrade = true