Terraform: Create variable data based on conditions

I am relatively new to Terraform and I do understand that TF is not a programming language to assist in conditional looping. However, I have below requirement currently and would like to seek some assistance on the same

User will declare a list in below format for creation in their child module.

serverlist = [
    {"name" : "PhysicalVM",  "value" : "Server1"},
    {"name" : "CloudVM", "value" : "CServer1"},
    {"name" : "PhysicalVM", "value" : "Server2"},
    {"name" : "PhysicalVM", "value" : "Server3"},
  ]

In my parent module, for creating resource, I need to store value based on above list like below

server_build = a1 && a2 || a3 || a4

If we get CloudVM, && should be used and if we see PhysicalVM, || symbol to be used.

How can we achieve this in Terraform?

Thanks

Hi @parthibansg20,

I’m afraid I don’t understand your goal. I’d like to learn more about it to try to answer your question.

I think what you’ve shown here is a value for a variable declared like this:

variable "serverlist" {
  type = list(object({
    name  = string
    value = string
  }))
}

I also think that you want to make a dynamic decision based on the value of the name attribute of each element of this list.

However, I don’t yet understand what result you intend to produce. In particular, I don’t understand what “a1”, “a2”, “a3”, and “a4” represent in your example.

As a partial answer to your question, I can share a pattern for selecting a value based on a string. You can achieve that by declaring a local value that is a mapping to be used as a lookup table:

locals {
  server_name_something = {
    "PhysicalVM" = "result-1"
    "CloudVM"    = "result-2"
  }

servers_with_something = tolist([
    for s in var.serverlist : {
      name      = s.name
      value     = s.value
      something = local.server_name_something[s.name]
    }
  ])
}