Using foreach and referencing the created resources

I am just beginning my terraform journey and was starting with what I considered to be a simple task, creating 4 users and assigning them to a group.

In the documentation for for_each there is this example:

resource "aws_iam_user" "the-accounts" {
  for_each = toset( ["Todd", "James", "Alice", "Dottie"] )
  name     = each.key
}

This works great. but I cannot figure out how to apply that to this:

resource "aws_iam_group_membership" "developers" {
  name = "developer-group-membership"
  users = ????
  group = aws_iam_group.developers.name
}

What is the proper way to create users and then add those users to a group? As a newb, this seems more complicated than it should be so I assume I am missing something.

Thanks in advance!

Hi @api-mike,

From the docs it looks like this users argument wants a set of IAM usernames. With what you showed here the usernames will all match the instance keys of your aws_iam_user.the-accounts instances anyway, and so a relatively easy answer would be to use keys(aws_iam_user.the-accounts), but that’s not really robust because it doesn’t fully describe to Terraform that the group memberships depend on the users, and so I would suggest something like this instead:

resource "aws_iam_group_membership" "developers" {
  name  = "developer-group-membership"
  users = [for u in aws_iam_user.the-accounts : u.name]
  group = aws_iam_group.developers.name
}

The above is a for expression, which is a general mechanism for deriving one collection from another. In this case, it’s deriving a list of usernames from a map of objects representing the aws_iam_user instances.

Because this expression includes a reference to aws_iam_user.the-accounts, Terraform can see that it must create the user objects before it tries to create the group membership object.