Using null_resource and external data source together

You thought you were late - check me out!

I’m fairly new to Terraform and I’m looking at a module that uses a null_resource to derive a value and write it to a file, then uses an external data source to inspect that file and return the value. It seems like this pattern confuses Terraform on runs after the first one - it seems that on later runs if state has not changed, Terraform will not call the null_resource provider to regenerate the file, but it will also never return values from state. Instead it returns the value from the file - if the file is gone it just doesn’t work.

@apparentlymart is this combination of null_resource and external data source what you intended to recommend? Have you seen this problem before? Is there a better way to implement the pattern?

Pay particular attention to the first line in the null resource defined in foudelsahi’s solution:

triggers = { always_run = “${timestamp()}” }

And also the docs for null_resource:

• triggers (Map of String) A map of arbitrary strings that, when changed, will force the null resource to be replaced, re-running any associated provisioners.

Note that the string "${timestamp()}" will always change (unless you plan & apply in the same millisecond… haha), and thus always rerun the provisioner.

Hi @doug-fish! I’ve moved this to a new topic because that other topic was pretty old and it’s nice to keep each topic focused on only one question.

With that said, in the comment you were referring to I was suggesting using external instead of null_resource, rather than using the two together. That advice only applies if you’re talking about only retrieving some data, and not also creating an important side-effect at the same time.