Vagrant - "Command not found" error

Hi There,

I’m very new to VM’s and using vagrant, so I apologize if there’s additional information that I should have included in this explanation. I’ve installed both virtual box and vagrant onto my MacBook, however, after I input: “vagrant up” and then “vagrant ssh” all other commands don’t work and I get the error message: “-bash: vagrant: command not found”. I’ve tried to solve this problem myself by going through other forums and discussion boards, but haven’t had any luck yet. Any help would be appreciated!!

Hi there,

Just to confirm that I understand your situation currently, you:

1. Installed VirtualBox
  2. Installed Vagrant
  3. Ran vagrant up (successfully)
  4. Ran vagrant ssh (successfully)
  5. Now vagrant commands result in an error

Based on the above being correct, the issue is likely because you are connected to the Vagrant guest instead of your host system. When running vagrant ssh, Vagrant will create an SSH connection to the guest providing you with a shell on the guest. Once you are in the guest, the vagrant command will not be available as it is not installed on that “machine”.

You should be able to confirm this by opening another terminal window in macOS and running vagrant which should work as expected.

Cheers!

1 Like

Hi Chris!

Thank you so much for reaching out, you’re a lifesaver. Yes, the situation you described is correct.

I followed your instructions and opened up a second terminal and started vagrant, however, I’m still getting the same error of “command not found”.

This is the output that I get when I run: vagrant up

sh: netsh: command not found

sh: cscript: command not found

It seems that you don’t have the privileges to change the firewall rules. NFS will not work without that firewall

changes. Execute the following commands via cmd as administrator: