Vault for job queues

I’m tasked with setting up a job queue system, for which I’m evaluating some of the most common options like celery, rq, tasktiger, etc.
The thing is: a worker, when it receives a new job to execute, needs to fetch a secret from vault, which it needs to perform its task. The worker can then carry out its task and no further access to vault is needed.

My question is about which of the various vault authentication methods is most suitable for this scenario. I think approle could fit (though I’m still unsure about the exact dynamics), but I’m just starting out with vault so I’m still uncertain. Would I configure the role id in the worker, then send it (how?) the secret id along with the job to run, so it can authenticate, get a token and read the secret it needs?

If someone has advice or pointers to examples, it would be very welcome.

thanks!

There are a few ways this can be done, but it depends a lot on who should access what. For example:

if you trust the worker - it can have access to all the secrets, then you only need to solve secret introduction for the worker. In this case, the job would not directly dictate the secret, but implies it. the job says “read from database”, and the worker reads the passwords from vault and connects to the DB. In this case, only the worker, ultimately needs the token.

At the other end of the spectrum, if the job directly dictates the secret to use - the job submitter may be the one generating the access token and passing it with the job queue. Then the worker “blindly” accesses the secret via the data in the job.

It is very dependent on how you scope your secrets.

The following article, while specific on AppRoles, also has a lot of information on secrets introduction - basically, how to access a secret without using another secret.