Sudo Permissions when creating vault policies

I am new to the vault and trying to understand “sudo” permissions a little better. I know it is used for Root protected API endpoints. Is there a way to find all the root protected API endpoints.

Why does sys/leases/* with sudo permissions not return a list of lease ids but instead gives a permission denied error when calling “list /sys/leases/lookup/” but when I add the path “sys/leases/lookup” with sudo permission it works. Below are my path definitions:

path “sys/leases/*” {
capabilities = [“create”, “read”, “update”, “delete”, “list”, “sudo”]
}

path “sys/leases/lookup” {
capabilities = [“list”, “sudo”]
}

The full list of root protected endpoints in 1.12.2+ent is:

auth/token/accessors/
pki/root
pki/root/sign-self-issued
sys/audit
sys/audit/{path}
sys/auth/{path}
sys/auth/{path}/tune
sys/config/auditing/request-headers
sys/config/auditing/request-headers/{header}
sys/config/cors
sys/config/ui/headers/
sys/config/ui/headers/{header}
sys/leases
sys/leases/lookup/
sys/leases/lookup/{prefix}
sys/leases/revoke-force/{prefix}
sys/leases/revoke-prefix/{prefix}
sys/plugins/catalog/{name}
sys/plugins/catalog/{type}
sys/plugins/catalog/{type}/{name}
sys/raw
sys/raw/{path}
sys/remount
sys/replication/dr/primary/secondary-token
sys/replication/performance/primary/secondary-token
sys/replication/primary/secondary-token
sys/replication/reindex
sys/revoke-force/{prefix}
sys/revoke-prefix/{prefix}
sys/rotate
sys/storage/raft/snapshot-auto/config/
sys/storage/raft/snapshot-auto/config/{name}

I obtained this by retrieving the OpenAPI document from sys/internal/specs/openapi and parsing the result to find all the paths where x-vault-sudo is specified.

They are one of the more confusing, and poorly documented parts of Vault.

First, they have very little at all to do with the classic Linux/Unix sudo command - there is no sense of “step-up” authentication or change of identity.