Variables for Modules

Hi,

I’m new to Terraform and I’m trying to create a more organized folder structure, but for now I need to replicate all variables files, contents and reference it into modules. There is a way to use a common variables in root folder for all other modules and have specific variables.tf and terraform.tfvars inside each module?

For example:

iac-azure
±main.tf
±providers.tf
±outputs.tf
±resource_group.tf
±variables.tf
+terraform.tfvars
±-- Virtual Network
±vnet.tf
±variables.tf
±outputs.tf
±terraform.tfvars

In this example, I want to each module have the information from root about resource group created and inside vnet module the variables to create virtual network.

Or I missed some guidance about this?

Thanks

If I understand your question right, you’re trying to pass variables set in ROOT variable file, to modules in a sub directory, in this case Virtual Network.

If so, you must first create the variable block in root variable file:
variable “testvar” {
type = “string”
default = “helloworld”
}

Then declare an empty variable in your Virtual NetworkN/variables.tf

For example:
variable “test” {}

Then, you must pass the variable value from root to this module variable in main.tf as:

module “virtualnetwork” {
source = “./Virtual Network”
test = var.testvar
}

shayanmalik4, thank you, got it… I guess my error was applying variable type and value on both variables.tf files.

And even using modules I can link resources, right? Like an storage account module to a vm module: azurerm_storage_account.mystorageaccount.primary_blob_endpoint

Or I need to change the reference about it?

Thanks

1 Like

Yup, you can link resources within modules. And by link I’m assuming “refer to a resource created in module A, in module B”.