Call a terraform variable from a different directory

Hi,
I am new to Terraform and I am creating infrastructure in Azure using Terraform. I have a variables file in my root folder and I have my create vnet script in another directory. My directory looks like:

enter image description here

My main.tf and variables.tf are in the root directory PaaS. My CreateVnets.tf is in my CreateVnets directory. It works fine if I put the variables file in the CreateVnets directory, then I just call the variables by using the var.variablename call. But we are going to have a number of different directories to create different Terraform resources so I want to use one variables file.

How do I access my variables in variables.tf in my Vnets.tf file.

So for example my location variable in variables.tf:

variable "LOCATION" {
  type = string
  default = "West Europe"
}

How do I call that variable in my Vnets.tf where I create my Azure resources?

Hi @mikepower79,

Each module’s input variables are independent from the others. Input variables are approximately analogous to the parameters to a function in a general-purpose language, where each function defines its own set of parameters and the caller passes in suitable values for each one.

If all of your modules will use a variable called location then you’d need to declare it in each module, but then in the calling module you can pass it down from the root so that the actual value of the variable is still declared in only one place:

variable "location" {
  type    = string
  default = "West Europe"
}

module "firewall" {
  source = "./AzureFirewall"

location = var.location
}

module "vnets" {
  source = "./Vnets"

location = var.location
}

If you have several arguments that are needed by most of or all of your shared modules then you can reduce the boilerplate by defining them all as a single variable of an object type and then passing them all in together as a single value:

variable "location" {
  type    = string