Accessing variables declared and defined in parent from child module

Hi,

I am quite new in using Terraform, please bear with me if my questions are silly.
My code structure is as follows:
Root:-----------
main.tf
variables.tf
main_values.tfvars
nva-------(/* child module folder */)
create_firewall.tf
variables.tf
firewall_values.tfvars

I have tried executing just the child module as a separate standalone one, it worked successfully.
As a next step I wanted to try out module configuration.
Root: ---- consists of only creation of vnet and subnets.
Child Module ----- creates AzureFirewall subnet in vnet created in parent .
and Azure Firewall in that subnet.
My issues:

1. How to refer to the vnet that is created in parent.
  2. Although all values are provided in firewall_values.tfvars, it is still asking the values from the main.tf in parent where child module is getting called.

I know as per the module configuration I need to pass all the values at the time of calling the module. Is there any way I can point to values defined in firewall_values.tfvars file. If this is possible, then child module variables definitions can be segregated.

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

If you want use the resources get created in child module you need to expose them with ids or arns in output.tf of child module. then you can call those values in root module.

For your first question, the answer is to declare in the child module an input variable that accepts the parts of the vnet object you need. I’m assuming that when you say “vnet” you mean azurerm_virtual_network, in which case I expect that the attributes you need will be the id, the name, the location, the resource group name, and the id and name of each of the subnets, which suggests a variable declaration like this:

variable "virtual_network" {
  type = object({
    id                  = string
    name                = string
    location            = string
    resource_group_name = string
    subnet   = set(object({