Vault username_templating

hi,

Can username_template options in Vault terraform resource vault_database_secret_backend_connection configuration be override when boundary_credential_library_vault read dynamic db credential through vault api token? (new feature required)

The issue is boundary_credential_library_vault use a vault token for the api call to get backend db dynamic credential which vault_database_secret_backend_connection configured username_templating pattern option [auth-method]-[user]_[random characters] (e.g. in above case dynamic credential boundary connect will have token-token_ue1LD0vkDWLaAWJn9jdx to connect to backend target DB. As an administrator I cannot audit who is that user in real world actually access the db). So would like to pass boundary oidc user/account name to vault which can override the [user] option of vault username_templating pattern before dynamic credential generated and returned back to boundary connect response as “username”: “token-amos.c_ue1LD0vkDWLaAWJn9jdx ”.

Leave this previous discussion on HashiCorp Discuss as a reference

Thanks

1 Like

Can anyone help with this please?

@amosc did you manage to solve the issue?

Does following this work for you/get you closer? The username generated for the DB has the role name included

"username": "v-token-**analyst**-1ee37SuBH6J92Ex6RDRp-1624921756"

thanks for the reply @jonathanfrappier !
My aim is to somehow bind generated username with user login in boundary

As I understand this setup, Boundary is the Vault client. There would need to be a way for Boundary to pass the username details through to Vault and Vault would also need to be able to accept that detail coming in from Boundary so Vault could include it when creating the user/role in the target database instance you are connecting to.

I don’t think that is possible today (based on the other thread and Jeff is very close to Boundary development).