Edge Load Balancing for Consul Connect

Hello,
I am new to all this service mesh world and pattern, sorry if will write some nonsense.

We are planning to build service mesh using consul + envoy, it looked like complete solution. But after some reading and digging, it appeared that this combination is only for internal communication discovery and if you hit from outside like internet, envoy is not supported yet, as per here and here.

Possible solutions to enable edge load balancer with dynamic service discovery are:

I write here to get opinion / recommendation from Hashicorp representative on what approach to take, as they might be familiar with Roadmap.

Also any opinions are welcome, but I do not want to be tight to solution that just support Kubernetes.

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi,
I donā€™t represent HashiCorp but can say that I was able to configure Envoy to operate as an Edge proxy to a Consul service mesh. Consul provides enough configurability via ā€˜Escape Hatchesā€™ including overriding the Envoy bootstrap template to allow it to work.

You will have to become familiar with the Envoy configuration format which can be a bit of a steep learning curve, but probably worthwhile if you will be supporting Consul Connect / Envoy mesh in production.

I plan to write up the details of what I did, and Iā€™ll share once thatā€™s available.

Thanks,
Matt

2 Likes

Great question @vasilij-icabbi.

I wanted to cross post a response from a GitHub issue for folks looking here as itā€™s a common question understandably! Original (plus some extra clarification is here: https://github.com/hashicorp/consul/issues/5695#issuecomment-539185301)

Hi all, thanks for all of your feedback, just wanted to jump in to say this is certainly on our radar.

There are a few options that exist today and Iā€™ll share some rough plans too for the near future.