HCP Boundary cli vs Desktop - connecting to an ubuntu target in ec2

I am new to Boundary and set up cluster on HCP. I am following the training section Connect to your first target . The Boundary cli installed on my Linux machine is 0.14.2.

The initial setup to completing target to connect to my public aws ubuntu instance is completed. I can successfully use the boundary cli to connect to my instance with the command $boundary connect ssh -target-id=ttcp_123456789 -- -l user_name -i user_key.pem

The ssh logs have these :

sshd[38104]: Accepted publickey for user_name from 35.168.53.57 port 30371 ssh2: RSA SHA256:GPz+K5jGpaix5FK8KIsQuxAO2N2144sJPXMsOey0umw
sshd[38104]: pam_unix(sshd:session): session opened for user user_name (uid=1000) by (uid=0)
systemd-logind[3057]: New session 314 of user user_name.

When trying to replicate the setup with the Boundary Desktop , I can see the target listed and clicking connect is also successful. The status turns to pending and the session is ready. When choosing shell , it shows :

ssh 127.0.0.1 -p 34567 , it fails with error user@127.0.0.1 : Permission denied (publickey).

ssh logs for this session :

Connection closed by authenticating user user_name 44.194.155.74 port 6803 [preauth]

Question :

1. why does the Boundary Desktop fails when ssh from terminal or the boundary cli work
  2. when i use another machine (Windows for example) and use the Boundary desktop , will any changes are to be made to establish session (private key, broker any credentials etc)

Update : tested the cli and boundary :

1. Using the CLI :

$boundary connect ssh -target-id=ttcp_123456789 – -l user_name -i user_key.pem

1. Using Boundary Desktop : After successfully creating a session with the target, copy the session’s ssh port forwarding details. Once inside the inbuilt shell , use the command and ensure you have the private key in the path to connect successfully.

ssh user_name@127.0.0.1 -p 50360 -i user_key.pem

So answering my questions :