How to find out argument data types?

Hi,
I am new to Terraform. This may be something obvious but I notice when I look up a resource on the Terraform registry pages, the Argument Reference section does not have data types specified. How do people figure out the proper data types, e.g. string, number, list, etc to use? Thanks.

Hi @iacac,

Unfortunately as you’ve seen the documentation often leaves the expected data type vague by using statements such as “a list of IDs” (probably a list of strings) or “an ID” (probably a string). This is an unfortunate result of many of these providers now being quite old and a lot of their existing documentation being written and maintained manually over time by human documentation authors who didn’t always do so consistently.

We have been gradually switching to generated documentation in some cases, which can therefore be more systematic about mentioning metadata like this, but I understand that isn’t much consolation if the resource types you are interested in don’t have that yet.

Although far from an ideal solution, you can access the provider’s own internal schema metadata (what the documentation would ideally be generated from) by getting the provider installed using terraform init and then executing the following command:

terraform providers schema -json

The result will be a likely-very-large JSON blob describing the schema of everything in every provider you use, and so at the very list you’ll probably want to prettify the layout by piping it into a tool like jq.

In that JSON data structure you’ll see for each resource type that it has a property "block" which describes the schema of its top-level block. Inside that is "attributes" which describes both the arguments and result attributes in that top-level block, including a property "type" which gives the specific type constraint Terraform Core will enforce on the provider’s behalf.