Boundary Connection to SQL Server on EC2 from WSL

Hello,

I’m not an expert on SQL Server and currently working on a specific setup but encountering issues while trying to connect to a SQL Server running on an EC2 instance (in a private subnet) from Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) using Boundary. My setup includes Boundary deployed on AWS EKS with both a controller and a worker. The goal is to establish a connection to a SQL Server instance.

Here’s what I’ve confirmed so far:

• The security groups are configured to allow inbound access on port 1433.
  • SQL server ports are open on 1433.
  • I am able to RDP into the same instance using a different Boundary target setup with port 3389 with no issues.
  • However, when trying to connect to the SQL Server using boundary connect from WSL, I receive the following errors:
Sqlcmd: Error: Microsoft ODBC Driver 18 for SQL Server : Login timeout expired.
Sqlcmd: Error: Microsoft ODBC Driver 18 for SQL Server : TCP Provider: Error code 0x2749.
Sqlcmd: Error: Microsoft ODBC Driver 18 for SQL Server : A network-related or instance-specific error has occurred while establishing a connection to {hostname}. Server is not found or not accessible.

To connect to the database, I used the following command:

boundary connect -target-id {target_id} -exec sqlcmd

I’m looking for guidance or suggestions on what might be causing these errors and how to resolve them. Any advice on additional configurations or troubleshooting steps would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

What server address is sqlcmd trying to connect to? Are you passing it the port number being set up by the Boundary proxy or is it trying to connect to the default port of 1433?

Server address is private ip address of the ec2 instance that SQL is installed on. I added the default port 1433 in the target port in boundary UI.

Hi there,